All Star Brunch Bar

I believe Sundays are for one thing and one thing only – brunch. Sunday Brunch is without doubt my favourite meal of the week, and being located in the west end I am more than spoilt for choice – I have an embarrassment of riches when it comes to delicious brunch spots.
Today I decided to make my way to All Star Brunch Bar located at 531 Sauchiehall Stree in Charring Cross to sample their brunch offerings for the first time. I have been to ASBB a few times for take away lunches which have all been absolutely delicious so I was very keen to sample their weekend brunch menu. Despite having been open for quite a few weeks now during the week this is only their second weekend open.
For those of you who don’t know ASBB is the brain child of founding and former owners of Tribeca in Partick. In May of 2013 they decided to sell the business on after 10 years of involvement to embark on a new challenge in Charring Cross, and being located about 2 minutes walk from my front door I am most grateful that they did.
Pictures from the ASBB Facebook Page
The interior is exactly what you’d expect from an American brunch bar – it has a small open kitchen area that you have to walk by to get to the seating area at the back, as you’d expect there are American flags dotted all over the joint and framed photographs of basketball players lining the walls. The seated area is small but not overly cramped, it’s not designed to linger for house but it is more than perfectly pleasant and lovely surroundings to hang out for an hour or two eating and catching up with friends.

As I can testify with my previous visits the staff at ASBB are all warm and friendly – they all acknowledged your presence, saying hello when you walk in the door and thanking you on the way out. Even though this is only their second weekend open the service was fast and well practised.

Their normal week menu is amazing with my favourite being the super tasty french dipped sandwiches – doorsteps of bread stuffed with beef or turkey accompanied with a tub of house gravy to douse your sandwich in – YUM!!!, tasty paninis and ‘the’ most incredible shakes ever. So it was with much excitement I opened the menu to peruse their Sunday menu and boy it’s a doozy!  I won’t go on and on about it just check out from the picture below….
Since it was a Sunday morning I felt that a large glass of freshly squeezed OJ was in order and I couldn’t resist also ordering the Nirvana spiced chai latte which is an immense concoction consisting of chai tea, steamed milk, whipped cream and Carmel drizzle – chai & whipped cream a nirvana indeed!
Food wise for me it had to be Eggs Maryhill, how can you not try something called Eggs Maryhill?? And believe me it didn’t disappoint – it was 2 mammoth doorstop slices of brown bread topped with sliced cheddar cheese, potato scone, black pudding, poached eggs and lashings of hollandaise sauce. It was extremely good – crunch toast, soft black pudding, a gorgeous buttery hollandaise and portions so large that by the end of my first stack I had a moment thinking ‘Christ I’ve to eat all that a second time’ somehow I pushed through and managed to clear my plate – it’s hard work but someone has to sample all these delights to share with you guys 🙂
I had planned to maybe get a stack of pancakes as a kind of brunch dessert but there was no way I could of managed another mouthful, although having sampled their pancakes as a takeout I can assure you they are awesome.
All in all I don’t have a single niggle or complaint about ASBB, it’s an exceptional addition to the Glasgow brunch & lunch scene and I am sure to be back soon and often for Sunday brunch.